First Sega AGES Titles Hit Switch in August

A few months ago we first heard the news about Sega AGES, and fans Sonic and related franchises went wild! The plans were stated that there’d be a range of digital-only classic title re-releases on the Switch… yeah, okay, so basically AGES is Sega’s own version of a Virtual Console.

Famitsu (a weekly magazine in Japan) has now confirmed that the first two titles for AGES will be released in August—that’s real soon, folks—for around $8USD each. These two games will be: Sonic the Hedgehog and Thunder Force IV.

The AGES version of Sonic the Hedgehog will contain elements from the 3DS version of the game, which added in Spin Dash. We’ll also get Mega Play arcade version. Thunder Force IV will have online leaderboards and the SEGA Saturn edition’s Styx Mode.

There are three additional titles we know about that will follow these first releases—Phantasy Star, Gain Ground, and Alex Kidd in Miracle World—with even more to come.

While the details on region launch haven’t been confirmed, we’re quite certain we’ll see all of these across the board for players in the very near future and a similar timeframe. Stay tuned!


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Digg
Author: Dave View all posts by
Dave will tell you that he likes to play video games, this is in fact a lie. What he really likes to do is buy games, and leaving them sitting unopened on his shelf. He is a monster.

Leave A Response